Do you keep emergency bubbles, too?

10 Jun

Some people carry around bible verses or poetry; some grow plants in the office or go to the gym during lunch; I carry bubbles. In my grey shoulder-bag, I keep two pens, some Advil, a small notepad which my daughter and I share, and a 2-inch bubble wand ensconsed in its own gooey, sturdy, rainbow-imbued “bubblestuff.”  It may be soap, it may be magic, or it may be a small oil spill in a bottle.  Whatever its actual ingredients, my seven-year-old and I have pulled it out twice now – somewhere between “Get out of my life” and “Don’t ever leave me” – and it works! It really works. We giggle. We pop. We blow air in bursts, out and in, out and in, quickly and deeply, and we feel restored.

Do you have something like this – with your partner, your kids, yourself – to help you find peace when you’re hanging by the proverbial thread?  Do you keep emergency bubbles, too?

6 Responses to “Do you keep emergency bubbles, too?”

  1. Sandi Davis June 13, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    This reminds me of a friend who keeps bubbles in her car and blows them out of the sun roof when she has to sit in traffic. Bubbles always make life better!

  2. rrp69 June 13, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    I love it!! Thank you 🙂

  3. Emily June 14, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    I was just thinking I should have a bubble day. Brilliant.

    • rrp69 June 15, 2011 at 9:44 am #

      I have to know… did you HAVE your bubble day?

  4. Molly June 16, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    Am thinking bubbles would be an excellent summer group activity for July or August.

    • rrp69 June 16, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

      Fab! For the kids or for their chatty moms? 🙂

Your Words

