Things I Love

14 Oct

I love fall.  I love it deeply, immensely.  I love the smells of fall, the sweaters of fall, the crisp air, new beginnings, the intermittent rain of colorful leaves.  I love pumpkin-picking in a vast field with my family in the fall.  I love fall birthdays, and parent-teacher conferences, and falling into the rhythm of a new school year.

It seems lately, however, that with so much going right, there is also so much going wrong.  Life barrels along and there are days I find myself questioning my skill as a parent, as a non-profit communicator, as a committed writer, as a grounded spiritual person, as an active member of the LGBT community.  I question the odds – of my shoulder unfreezing, of our kitten testing negative this time for FIV, of my daughter being prescribed an eye patch.  And then I sleep, or then I eat, or then I write or I chat or I wake up to sunny weather, and the doubts fall away again.

Today, I’m in a good mood.  Tomorrow, I may not be.  I’ve decided to make a list of things I love, in case I need it tomorrow.  I’m challenging myself – on the train, at lunch, in conversation with my partner, my kids, or my friends – to share a few lines from my list.  Here goes.

Things I Love

  • Chicago’s caramel and cheese popcorn mix from Garrett’s (Thank you, Debby.)
  • Puddle-splashing in the sunshine after days of icy rain
  • Watching my seven-year-old break into playground slang and pre-teen pop music dance moves, half-dressed just before bedtime
  • Hot and sour soup when I’m stuffy-headed, eyes-burning, sniffly, pathetically sick
  • A recent card from my stepdaughter sharing some of the ways I’ve impacted her life
  • Eve Ensler’s take on the Occupy Movement – Ambiguous UpSparkles From the Heart of the Park (Mic Check/Occupy Wall Street)
  • Blog comments from any (and every) perspective
  • When a good friend invites me into her office and shuts the door as I’m nearing the edge of a personal precipice
  • Giggling babies, gurgling babies, babies
  • Tail-wagging dogs meeting me at the front door
  • Kittens who think they’re dogs at the front door, twitching their tails and rubbing against my shins
  • Cold pizza for breakfast
  • Crossroad Funds’s “Reading Change” for social justice book list
  • Crime novels
  • Waking up each morning to a partner who fills our house with happy
  • Clean dishes
  • Cheesy scrambled eggs with salsa
  • Brownie Leaders whose daily commitment to girls and courage and leadership and friendship and service and fun is astounding
  • My daughter’s latest campaign to “color the scene,” turning “the boy runs” into “the boy with the sparkly red shorts runs as fast as he can in the race”
  • Making lists, reading lists
  • A colleague’s daughter’s pre-writing list tacked up on a bulletin board by her desk
  • Family photos where everyone’s eyes are smiling (yes, we do have a couple of those!)
  • A long history of LGBT women and men whose coming out made my coming out so much easier
  • Blogger friends who write about coming out with unbelievable precision
  • Apple blossoms
  • Fresh jasmine
  • Straight friends who know more about the Boy Scouts’ policy on gay Scouts than I do
  • People who stand by their convictions
  • Morning light through beveled glass making rainbows dance on the stairs, and my daughter discovering their magic
  • The deep rich quiet of reading in bed beside someone I love, no matter what the day holds, each night

Have a beautiful day.

14 Responses to “Things I Love”

  1. bmarie69 October 14, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Great list! Thanks for the reminder to keep the good stuff in my back pocket for when the crisp and colorful fall mornings turn into the stressful pace of the rest of the day. But now you have me craving cheesy eggs and salsa…

    • rrp69 October 14, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      Me, too!! Tomorrow morning’s menu, with Ms. K out on the road once more (however briefly): Cinnamon rolls and cheesy salsa eggs. YUM.

  2. Molly October 14, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Loved this post, which inspired me to make my own “Things I Love” list: http://virtual-farmgirl.blogspot.com/2011/10/lists-things-i-love.html

    Thanks for such a great start to the day.

    • rrp69 October 14, 2011 at 10:32 am #

      Thank YOU for a great start, too. I love your list.

  3. Anna October 14, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    Your strategy of keeping the list of loves is a very good one. I think many of us have the doubting days and it’s good to remind ourselves of the good stuff.

  4. Margit October 14, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Fabulous list! So many things are on there that make me smile, too! Thank you!

  5. Joy October 14, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Now’s a good time for me to write my own list.

    • rrp69 October 14, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

      Will you share?

  6. Molly October 14, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Melissa was also inspired. Love her post too: http://www.elsmofour.com/2011/10/inspired-to-share-things-i-love.html

  7. Cindy October 16, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Love this….especially the sparkly red shorts! Xo

  8. Rachel Wallis October 24, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Thanks for the love for the Reading Change series! We hope you can make it to some of the events. Our first event on the book We Are Wisconsin and worker rights organizing is coming up this week! http://crossroadsfund.org/node/104

    • rrp69 October 24, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

      Thanks! I hope so, too 🙂 Either way, your reading list is Fab.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hop on the Love Train! « Are you the babysitter? - September 14, 2012

    […] did this once before and the ever-so-awesome Virtual Farmgirl made her own list [here], our groovy friend Julie […]

Your Words

