Generosity and Gratitude

25 Nov

Thank you for traveling with me on this journey through queer parenting, step-parenting, adoptive parenting, simply parenting through everyday struggles to find a common ground on which to raise a child.  Thank you for your friendship, online and off, as we figure out what works and what doesn’t, blowing off steam along the way.  Thank you for your words.  Thank you for reading mine.

How was your Thanksgiving?  How was the family?  Did you spend the holiday with friends?

For me, Thanksgiving is about generosity and gratitude – “the two G’s,” as my friend put it yesterday while roasting pine nuts for the spinach salad.

How can I be generous? For what am I grateful?  Asking these questions puts me in the spirit of openness.  Anything else the day may hold then is … gravy.

But today is the day after Thanksgiving, and for that reason alone, I am keeping this short, although it may also be true that I:

  1. Slept in this morning, and only have 15 minutes to write this before the arbitrary 7:15 a.m. deadline I’ve set for myself
  2. Dreamt all night of turkey, remembering my daughter next to me during Thanksgiving Dinner, flapping her arms and asking for “more chicken” after two years without meat in our kitchen
  3. Still need to pick-up after last night’s pie, bourbon and debauchery
  4. Woke up early to the sound of cartoons in our living room, couldn’t fall back asleep, and now I’m grumpy so I can’t write
  5. Don’t plan to change out of my pajamas all day long (What does this have to do with keeping it short? I don’t know.)
  6. Got up at the crack of dawn for Black Friday shopping in a neighboring suburb and now I’m typing this on my Android
  7. Discovered late last night that the dog ate my blog notes

Take your pick.  Some of this is actually true.

So … what are you up to today?  No, really – what are you doing right now?  Or thirty minutes from now when you’re done surfing the internet?  (Do people still say that, or is there a new slang for wandering around online?)

Come by later if you want some pie.  I plan to have some for breakfast, but there’s plenty more.

4 Responses to “Generosity and Gratitude”

  1. Julie Nilson November 25, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    No shopping for me today! I’ve tried the Black Friday thing, and I’m just not built for it. I’m questioning whether I should even go to the library today, since the traffic up that way will probably be clogged with shoppers.

    My only other plan today is to get most, if not all, of a 1,200-word article finished, but that all depends on whether I can get some peace from a couple of girls who are probably crashing from a pie-induced sugar high.

    • rrp69 November 25, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      Good luck with the article! We’re heading to library momentarily… must.leave.house. 🙂 Have a good one!

  2. Anonymous December 8, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    How can I be generous? For what am I grateful?

    2 of the most beautiful sentences ever strung together. You’ve touched me with your blog and I’ve only read 2 entries.

    I’m a single, straight Mom raising my son on my own, starting to date again, and just lost my mother to evil cancer. I get what you’re talking about, deeply.

    Thanks for sharing and don’t stop writing. I’ll buy your book when it’s ready:-)

    • rrp69 December 8, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

      Thank you for posting! And thank you for the vote of confidence. It takes a village – truly – for writing, for parenting, sometimes simply to get through each day.

      I am sorry to hear about your mother. There are no words.

      I’ll be interested to know what you think of tomorrow’s post. It’s a bit lighter than what you’ve read so far.

      Take care.

Your Words

