Hop on the Love Train!

14 Sep

Once in awhile, especially in autumn when the air shifts and leaves begin falling, I find it refreshing to drop everything and ask: What do you love? For no particular reason. It’s like carving your own skylight.

I did this once before and the ever-so-awesome Virtual Farmgirl made her own list [here], our groovy friend Julie Nilson, Author picked it up, called it a Love Train and we headed out of the station!

So it begins today.  My ode to autumn.

I Love . . .

  • Crisp air. Soft sweaters.
  • Midsummer rain.
  • Giggles.
  • Fresh squeezed orange juice.
  • Hand-cranked ice cream.
  • Baby smiles.
  • Unhurried sips of wine with a friend.
  • Lively lunchroom conversation about why teachers are striking in Chicago and Jon Stewart’s first show after 9/11.
  • My daughter’s still-small fingers wrapped around my elbow, holding me tight.
  • The steady parade of children and guardians on their way to school each morning.  The ability to gauge how early or late you are by where you are in the parade once you round the corner a block from home.
  • The Midwestern sky.
  • My stepmom’s voice in my head, with a “Why not?” for every “Why?” I ask.
  • Parents who blog. Parents who write. Parents who’ve been where I am now.
  • A vanilla shake in the middle of the day.
  • Riding fast on the highway with the top down.
  • My little girl paddling her kayak away from shore.
  • Painted turtles.
  • Core strength.
  • The ampersand.
  • The letter “Z”.
  • The letter “K”.
  • The smell of an old hardback book.

I asked my partner and daughter if they wanted to contribute. Together, we came up with these:

Frankie Loves . . .

– Those last bits of cheese or egg yolk left on the plate after breakfast.

– A good strong scratch up and down her back.

– A long walk.

– Treats!

Johnny Loves . . .

– Mice!

– Bounding to the door when his people come home, flicking his tail with a happy “Meow-Meow!” (Yes, Johnny is a cat raised by dogs).

– Lying in the same spot every day — in a patch of sunlight on the hard wood floor.

Lucy Loves . . .

– Human laps.

– Blankets.

– Body heat. In any season.

Sweet Potato Loves . . .

– Computers.

– Busy hands.

– Lying in the sun.

And in their own words:

My Daughter Loves . . .

  • I-scream-you-scream-we-all-scream-for-ice-cream 🙂
  • Swimming!
  • Being big and strong. And pretty. And… myself.
  • Mushrooms.  Lots and lots and lots of mushrooms, popping up in the grass when they weren’t there the day before.
  • Playing my water flutes. My toys. Playing my bath toys, basically.

And Kelly Loves . . .

  • Swimming in the lake.
  • Anything with a sesame seed in it.
  • A beautifully written novel.
  • The perfect bite.
  • Bourbon.  Good bourbon.

Today’s Love Train

The Love Train started off last night on the blog of a childhood friend over at don’t touch my poodle, and we were soon joined by

Windy City Virgins &  Outrunning the Storm, all of whom graciously offered up their lists although they usually write about other things.

Hop on the Love Train!  Leave your link or a note in the Comments below.  What’s on your list today?

10 Responses to “Hop on the Love Train!”

  1. Larry Fondow September 14, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    I love ALL your blogs but “Hop on the Love Train” is just FABULOUS! Your 2nd. mom, Kathy

    ________________________________

    • rrp69 September 14, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

      Thank you, Mom!! For reading and commenting and appreciating what I have to say 🙂

  2. Luckytraveler57 September 15, 2012 at 7:12 am #

    Okay, you shamed me into it

    I Love
    Having you and yours in my life
    Traveling to new places I haven’t been before
    My home, the city of Chicago and all the fabulousness it has to offer
    Great art that moves me emotionally
    Great theatre that does the same
    Long bike rides on nice warm non windy days
    The inner solitute of working out even when there are 100 other people at the gym

    • rrp69 September 17, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      I certainly did not mean to shame you into it! But I enjoy your list – and thank you for sharing 🙂 xo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hoping on the love train…. | Windy City Virgins - September 14, 2012

    […] My dear friend, who MAY have noticed I haven’t written on my blog in quite some time, asked me to hop on the LOVE train this Friday – so I decided to dust the cobwebs off my computer and take her up on the offer – here are just a few things I LOVE…. […]

  2. People All Over the World… Join In! | Julie Nilson, Author - September 14, 2012

    […] this seems like a good time to remind ourselves of the simple things that make us happy, so AYtB has started up the Love Train once again. She’s also gotten don’t touch my poodle, Windy City Virgins, and Outrunning the Storm to […]

  3. All You Need is Love « Thicker than Water - September 14, 2012

    […] it was Roi who helped me take the leap into blogging so when she invites, I accept.  Her blog, Are you the Babysitter?, is thought-provoking, sweet, sentimental and brave.  In other words, when you’re done here, pay […]

  4. love train | that cynking feeling - September 14, 2012

    […] over at Outrunning the Storm, I learned about the Love Train. And I’m hopping on […]

  5. All aboard! « In a Handbasket - September 17, 2012

    […] blog today, and she is participating in a blog “Love Train”. The concept started here, and seems to have caught on at a couple of other blogs, and since I haven’t posted in mumble […]

  6. things i love … | don't touch my poodle - September 20, 2012

    […] Chicago with her partner, her stepdaughter, and her adopted daughter. She writes a blog called “Are You the Babysitter”. In her words, she is a “queer mama co-parenting by love, step, adoption and the skin of my […]

Your Words

