Moving Houses

9 Nov

My Honey loves houses. The year we lived in London (see our little cutie there, waving “Hello” from her very own London Tower?) – my Honey browsed our hometown housing market weekly online, to see where prices were going up and where rehabs clustered, how they looked, how the upgrades impacted price, where we might decide to buy again when we came home.

Within two years, she had her real estate license – and two weeks later, she had her first clients. These days, she sells between 15 and 20 homes a year, ranking annually between 5th and 10th in sales in our community, out of over 550 realtors. She makes me proud. She loves finding the just-right house for each family – the right size, right layout, right block. She loves landing the right price for her sellers. All of this is a passion for her, this buying and selling of houses.

So it should not come as a shock to anyone who knows us: Yes, we are moving again.

This is how moving looks on my Honey:

In one hour flat, she has emptied the entire basement storage room and separated years of memories and belongings into two categories. She gives a quick nod to half of it, flashing me a grin. “This is the stuff I want to get rid of. Okay?”

This is how moving looks on me:

It’s morning, and I’ve just come downstairs. I wash my daughter’s glasses, pull out her vitamins, pour myself a bowl of Cheerios. Then I hunt for my coffee travel mug – in the bowl cabinet, in this house we’ve lived in for four years, on a shelf where my coffee travel mug has never been. I see it by the sink and fill it with liquid life.

Soon, I am walking with purpose towards the Blue Line Train, deeply annoyed by the drivers who roll their cars over the crosswalk lines, blocking my way to the train. It then occurs to me that I haven’t taken the Blue Line since we moved offices three years ago. Ah. I change course, and walk a bit further to catch the bus. I have forgotten my phone. It’s on the kitchen counter, I think, by the coffeepot. Or on the table.

Last night, I sorted 1/3 of the papers and bills we had stacked in a cabinet while our house was on the market.  Great progress, right?

This is how moving looks on our eight-year-old:

“Mom, will you be in my band? What instrument do you want to play? Pretend you’re my sister.”

And then: “I wish we could just be there now.”

We have seven weeks to go.

 

8 Responses to “Moving Houses”

  1. Lucky traveler 57 November 9, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Good luck, can you imagine us trying move? I’m not sure I would live through it!

    • rrp69 November 9, 2012 at 8:58 am #

      At this point, I’m not sure I will either. Let’s see.

  2. scott November 9, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    i TOTALLY get your approach. I am the same way. I actually spent three months going through four bins that I had in storage. Just last night I finally finished going through 25 years of photographs, most of people, places, and things that I no longer care about, remember, or want to. But … I looked at every picture. I gave each one deep thought about its meaning in my life (“who the hell is that person I am with?” “Where was this taken?” “What year is this?” Why did I keep this?!”) and gave it consideration in the “keep” pile. THe keep pile kept getting bigger. Finally I just sorted out family, close friends, shows, childhood, old apartments, old boyfriends, holidays, work pictures, travel, cool arty pictures I took when I was most lilkely stoned, and ones I want to scan in and put on facebook. It was complete and utter torture. Once I got them all divided, I went through each category and started to eliminate duplicates (why did we ever get double prints of anything??}, and eliminiate bad photots (thank goodness for digital nowadays), and ones that made me go “hmmm”. The shredder got a workout, let me tell you. I decided that I would not give myself the chance to reconsider … once decided it was gone … it was gone.

    Good luck … I feel your pain.

    • rrp69 November 9, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

      I love you, Scott!!! Thank you for making me feel just the tiniest bit less crazy. xo

  3. Rochnne Dunkin November 9, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Moving…hate it. Looks like we made our last move in March, thank goodness. We still haven’t got everything organized yet, it’s slow going but we love our home and are happy here. Somewhere between country and city, where we can hear cattle low and donkeys bray, but only 20 minutes to Dallas.

    • rrp69 November 9, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

      It sounds peaceful. Glad to hear you’re settling in and loving it. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Where is your happy place? « Are you the babysitter? - November 30, 2012

    […] moving houses next month. I may have mentioned it before. I’m sort of obsessed. And I realize suddenly why I can’t stand moving. While growing up, my happy place was an […]

  2. When it’s time « Are you the babysitter? - January 18, 2013

    […] our recent move, my daughter let go of the picture books we pored through over and over and over again, together on […]

Your Words

