Home is where the ___ is.

14 Dec

HouseI posted that line on Facebook the other day – “Home is where the ___ is” – and my friends had a LOT to say.

Cat puke, Coffee pot, Box with your pants in it, Kelly (my partner), Bourbon, Reality, Laughter, Missing library book, Mirror ball.  Clearly, I am not the only person who thinks about these things, which is a relief because if you’ve been reading my blog since I stopped telling only stories about my darling daughter, Miss E, you know I’ve put a lot of thought into what makes a house a home.  And it’s not the kind of thing I like to think about just on my own.

Which reminds me: I’m sorry I left you alone last Friday with your thoughts (what were they? I’m dying to know) but I was sick and lost inside a blanket during my weekly writing date with myself.  My daughter wrote me a note to share with you all on a restaurant place mat, but the the very efficient waitress cleared it, never to be seen again.  It said something like, “Mommy is sorry she can’t write her blog today, but she’s sick and exhausted and needs her rest so she can work.” I made my family leave the restaurant early and tuck me into bed at 7:15 p.m.

But here I am again with a handful of musings and a Haiku from my honey on “Home.”

Home is

…Bubbles in the bath.

…Cozy lap blankets and smart television drama.

…Dogs two-deep on the couch.

…A side table for my beer and a perfectly-sized foot stool.

…Silence. Sometimes.

…Glee, reverberating through every room in the house.

…Young people in the basement, whose voices sometimes carry through the vents. (Gasp!)

Home is not

…A wall of boxes, short tempers, a slowly emptying fridge. Not usually.

Home is

…A bourbon barrel photo from Kentucky, framed on the wall.

…Snow on the trees, just outside my window.

…Embers. Hot, orange.

…Honey lemon tea, slowly sipped.

…A crime drama on television in the next room, and a sleeping third grader upstairs.

Home is not…

…A place. Not really. Not to me. 

I asked my Honey and Miss E what home was to them and the dogs.

They said

…Coziness and proper lighting.

…A new toy.

…Good coffee.

…A book with coziness. (“You don’t have to say new toy anymore – it’s a new book!”)

…Giggling.

…Our pets.

…A new bed.

…For the dogs? Us. Their people.

…A new tiny blanket for the dachsund. (“Because she is a small thing!”)

…Friends who drop by. For pizza or Thai food. Or just to say, “hi.”

…The perfect place to sleep.

And this ~

Lovely Bungalow
Warmth and laughter, light and love
For us it is Home

Tuesday, we begin making our new house a home.  Wish us luck!

3 Responses to “Home is where the ___ is.”

  1. Jeanne Benink December 14, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    That was really sweet, my dear 🙂 I would add a few more things to what a home is . . .A place where kitties often fall fast asleep on your lap, with tiny, little smiles on their faces. A place where my love and I dance in the kitchen, even when the music stops. A place where good friends come, without calling first, and are always welcome. A place to sit and watch the snowflakes fall by the pale light of the street lamp. A place where laughter rings off the walls and where mandatory morning snuggling never, ever gets old.

    • rrp69 December 14, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      I love it, Jeanne – really love it, especially the bit about dancing in the kitchen. Thank you. xo

  2. Larry Fondow December 15, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    Roi,   I didn’t know you were sick and with all the work to be done;  however; happy you are better healthwise!   Larry & I always look so forward to your blogs; they are witty, wonderful,      You are smart, awsome, lovely!   Your 2nd. mom   Can’t wait for next week and being with you all to help and also to enjoy!  

    ________________________________

Your Words

