…more poems?

7 Apr

I considered posting some already-written poems when I realized that date night was kicking aside any spare moments I may have found yesterday to craft something new. But what’s the point of taking a 30-poems-in-30-days challenge if you’re just going to post something you’ve had sitting on a shelf gathering dust?

No, I’m better off sharing poetry on the fly, even if it’s only half-done, even if I don’t put the level of care into each poem that’s been my M.O. for… well… a really long time.  That’s the point, right?  Get something onto the page.

But on a blog? For the world to see? Is that weird?

I want to say thank you to anyone following my prose blog who’s now reading my poetry, too.  Thank you, too, to the poet-readers who’ve joined me this week to say nice things or click “Like.” It’s trying business, this posting something new each day.  Having you read and respond gives me courage!

*   *   *   *   *

It’s late afternoon and

I cup my hands around

dry air, aching along those

fault lines which zig through our lives

sometimes – not mine now, but – close

enough to me that I am eager for

the river to bubble up inside them

and make

life wet

again,

*

wear down the edges where rock divides,

relieve this ache, smooth cracks, expel

stones.

*

I am eager for

those before me to lay their bare feet

on the riverbed and dance,

kick off and

rise to the surface again.

*

When the rain comes,

the water will rise.

We can’t know how high.

There will be boats.

We will bounce splash

float row paddle our way

to calm –

*

but today, only

the air warms my palm,

and my hand, so tiny

stretches

across seismic shifts

to reach you

while the riverbed

wanders.

*

I will sit

here

as long as it takes

with my palm outstretched

and small,

waiting

until the water

rises

where it cannot yet

be seen

and the boats

are carried to

shore.

2 Responses to “…more poems?”

  1. Joy April 8, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

    Tears are running down my cheeks. It’s beautiful. Wow – the one without editing.

    You have inspired me and my little Varsha – I have written 4 poems, she has written 4, and we are reading Mary Oliver. We are working on catching-up and will do at least 1 poem each day for the rest of the month!

    • rrp69 April 8, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

      I am so happy to hear you and your girl are writing!!!! I am doubly happy to know V realizes she has a poet-mama. Kisses to you both, and I’m here if either of you ever wants to share.

      BTW – I don’t mean to imply “NO” editing – just “LESS” editing. I don’t think I would be able to breathe if I literally sent something into the world with “NO” editing. I know you can feel me there!

Your Words

