A Realtor’s Weekend

9 Apr

tree swingThere is a chair outside

on our front lawn

facing the street

and a tree swing.

In front of a bungalow

across the way

are two chairs together,

and I wonder when we will sit

with both our faces tipped

towards the sun

at the very same time.

National Poetry Writing Month:

30 poems in 30 days.

2 Responses to “A Realtor’s Weekend”

  1. scott April 10, 2013 at 8:27 am #

    i am digging your poetry ! i just have it in me … i can’t be free enough to do it … i focus too hard on trying to find what does rhyme with orange …

    • rrp69 April 10, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

      Hi, Scott! Thank you for the props 🙂

      I wonder if you can get your poems onto the page if you don’t pressure yourself to share them …? In those growing-up years when you and I knew each other, I was always scribbling stuff and folding it into an orderly file hidden deep in my closet… and I hardly shared any of it. For me, poetry is more about true representation of a feeling, and less about form or audience. Even – ironically – when the poem becomes a Haiku. But it’s that working and re-working the phrases that gives me a charge – not to “be” something for someone, but to “find” something… and not everything found needs to be shared. Right? Only sometimes. x’s and o’s and I hope we find a chance for our real-world paths to cross again.

Your Words

