Gaydar

12 Apr

How do you know that girl is gay?

How do I know?

Yeah. How do you know?

You’re saying I –  ?

You think

everyone

is gay.

*

If I thought

everyone

was gay,

some

non-gay

person would have

killed me by now

for being wrong.

It’s 2013.

Yes.

*

(Is it

poetry

when I

write

like

this?)

*

Winter Spring 2013 165

Explaining Gaydar:

*

I went out to dinner with Dad,

dressed nicely enough for dinner out

with a man who doesn’t live nearby.

Our waiter was

nice

but gave us the sideways eye.

He gave us the

upturned chin,

the chill – until

I found a way

to call my father “Dad.”

Loudly.

While our waiter

walked

past.

He relaxed!

I saw him relax.

He joked with us

next time he came by,

shoulders down now,

nearly a sigh.

You want to know why?

*

You know

what he was thinking

with his sideways eye.

You know.

So

Gaydar is like that.

You know?

*   *   *   *   *

National Poetry Writing Month:

30 poems in 30 days.

2 Responses to “Gaydar”

  1. lesbimom April 13, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    I like to avoid this sort of thing by mentioning my wife in the first couple of minutes of basically any conversation

    • rrp69 April 15, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

      I hear you! Thanks for stopping by.

Your Words

