For Mother’s Day

10 May

Stories, stories, stories, stories, stories – I am full to bursting with stories – mine and everyone else’s – yet I reach for time to write them down and come up empty. I need to decide about Sunday, Mother’s Day. I browse the world wide web in the fifteen minutes I have to spare this week, and discover this fabulously scathing perspective from Liz at Rebellious Magazine, a recent cast-mate of mine in the Listen to Your Mother show. Mother’s Day is complicated for so many of the people I love.

Here is what will make me happy this Mother’s Day. Most of it, you won’t find on any shelf:

  • Listen to what I say. Offer me love, warmth, food, and kind words.
  • Do not rush me out the door.
  • Do not try to persuade me into seeing things only from your point of view.
  • Share your truth. Yours. Tell me it is yours. Own it. Understand that my truth may mirror yours. Or it may not.
  • Do not force me into too-small spaces.
  • Defend me to people who wish to attack.
  • Offer to be strong. Leave room for me to be strong, too.
  • Hear me – not only my words, but my gestures and the feeling behind them, too.
  • Hot coffee. Good strong hot coffee. Stand-your-spoon-in-it coffee. Drinking this coffee with sunlight streaming across my face.
  • A pen, paper, and a place to write – even if only for 3 minutes. Or 5.
  • Hugs. As many as possible, please.
  • A finished basement.
  • One thing sometime in the day to organize or make right – laundry to fold, dishes to wash, boxes to stack – something with a beginning, a middle and an end. So I can feel satisfied when I’m through. Yes, it’s Mother’s Day and it’s my choice to feel a sense of completion.
  • Fresh air. Trees. A walk in the woods.
  • Food. Real food – like eggs, granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, soup, or spinach.
  • Bedtime with my not-so-little girl. One-on-on time with a book or a journal. Or a foot massage.
  • Belly laughs.
  • Time away from electronics.
  • Hearing your story. Hearing you tell it. From any angle. Whether or not it’s about moms.

And you? What would really float your boat this Mother’s Day?

6 Responses to “For Mother’s Day”

  1. Melisa May 10, 2013 at 7:12 am #

    Many of those things. Mostly, just a relaxing day with grilled steaks for dinner…I’m easy. 🙂

  2. Cami May 10, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    To be recognized as just a “mother” and not the “other mother”

    • rrp69 May 10, 2013 at 8:54 am #

      Yes! Yes, yes, yes. THAT. Love you lots, Mami. Big hugs to you and your girls.

  3. traceybecker May 11, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    To have a consideration for my feelings by all of my children, simultaneously. And some good coffee followed by a fancy mixed drink.

    • rrp69 May 16, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

      Super bad blog correspondent I am! Did you get everything you hoped for? xo

Your Words

