Stop: Mom with a Blog

19 Jul

Stop Sign

“Why do you have a pictures of a stop sign?” my daughter asks, scrolling through photos on my phone in the backseat.

“Sometimes, I take pictures for my blog – to go with the stories I write.”

“You write stories about stop signs?”

“No. I haven’t used those yet. I just took them, in case I write a story about… stopping something.”

“Oh.”  Silence. A long silence, during which my writing life suddenly makes no sense to me. No sense at all. We drive by a mural we see every day. “Take a picture of that!” she commands me, daring me, waiting to see what I’ll do.

“The world? You like worlds?”

“I like a world with a chain around it.” A what? “A chain of people.”

“You think I should write a story about the world?”

“You should. A story about the world with a chain of people around it holding hands. A story about peace.”

regarding the stone ballNow that’s a story I want to write. But how does one begin?

3 Responses to “Stop: Mom with a Blog”

  1. Rachael July 20, 2013 at 1:32 am #

    Hey! I nominated you for a Leibster Award because I freaking love your blog and others should too!

    • RoiAnn July 20, 2013 at 8:36 am #

      Wow. Thank you – how fun! I’ll post my bit in a couple of days 🙂

  2. debweeks July 29, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Your daughter is wise beyond her years 🙂

Your Words

