Grounded

19 Mar

Winter into Spring 2012 554We grounded Miss E from her devices this week – her iPod, and the iPad that became hers when Mama upgraded. The first day, she shrugged it off, read a book, said she didn’t care. The second day, she carried her camera all around the house – sitting in nooks and crannies to watch the video she had recorded with a friend. The third day, she asked to borrow my phone.

“For what?” I asked.

“To play a game,” she replied.

“No. Sorry. You’re grounded from your devices.”

“But that’s not mine!”

“I know, but it doesn’t make much sense to ground you from all your devices and then give you my phone to play games. Does it?” I’m almost ten years into this parenting gig, and I still haven’t stopped asking questions when my goal is to provide structure and discipline.

“Well, I’m basically playing games with my camera.”

“Well, this is where I’m drawing the line.”

She put her boots on and followed me to the car.

I may be onto something here.

8 Responses to “Grounded”

  1. Tammy March 19, 2014 at 11:58 pm #

    Love the ugly doll. And yeah, I’d say you’re definitely onto something.

    • RoiAnn March 20, 2014 at 8:27 am #

      Thanks! 🙂 Love that you’re familiar with ugly dolls. We’re pretty fond of them in our house.

  2. debweeks March 20, 2014 at 7:35 am #

    Ah, the joys of parenthood! We use the term choices and consequences a lot in our house. Knowing their choices have consequences really seems to resonate with my girls and they really don’t like the consequences of their poor choices. And it’s funny when I hear one of them say to the other, “Make good choices or you won’t like the consequences.” 🙂

    Hope Miss E learns a valuable lesson from the consequences of her choices.

    • RoiAnn March 20, 2014 at 8:26 am #

      Love that! I’m hopeful about Miss E, of course – we’ll see what happens once the ban is lifted. I find this to be a very confusing age.

  3. goodfamiliesdo March 20, 2014 at 3:31 pm #

    I’ve heard of families having no screen weeks and then allowing one weekend day for binging on screens. It seems to be a struggle the first couple weeks, but then the kids choose to watch only a couple shows on that one designated day and it evens out. That’s not consequence driven though… I think I’m just rambly today.

    • RoiAnn March 20, 2014 at 3:47 pm #

      I often think that’s a good model for our family, actually – but it might require more screen-free time for the adults than we’re willing to tolerate… I wonder if I could make it a challenge to Miss E, with a reward for us both at the end of a month… But, yes, this week was a consequence, not a vision for the future. BTW, I very much like rambly.

      • goodfamiliesdo March 21, 2014 at 8:45 am #

        I’ve been trying to have Facebook free days. It worked really well for a week and then there was his birthday and that ruined it. I do more actual blog writing when I’m not on FB all the time.

      • RoiAnn March 21, 2014 at 9:13 am #

        I’ll bet! Me, too 🙂 Though I handle social media for work, so it’s hard not to check my personal accounts while I’m out there.

Your Words

