This Mountain

30 Apr

Beyond the elevated tracks,

I see the darkest of mountain ranges,

cloudy edges not quite reaching me, not really

until my honey says, “Man! That cloud!”

and I look more closely, marveling over

how near it is to the mountaintop, and

understanding suddenly that I’m

not in California anymore

and here in the Midwest,

in the flat Midwest,

we do not have mountaintops. No,

this cloud before me is full and dark

and stretches across the road, stretches

the length of the horizon like a mountain range

I cannot hike on.

Stunning.

Midwestern Mountain

National Poetry Writing Month
30 poems in 30 days

Your Words

