only in this trembling

12 Sep

I talk about

color

difference

cultural bridges

showing

openness

inclusion

and

 

if I’m being honest:

 

how

to sound

right

 

You talk about

power

privilege

decision-making

who speaks

with whom

whose voice

is heard

You talk about

tone and action

 

being real

 

Less because

of your words

more because

of our presence

together

 

I see

 

what’s

required

of me:

less

what I say or

how I say it

more

what I do and

words that flow

from

 

being real

inspiring trust

clearly standing

for all I believe

truly seeing

you

 

and

 

in your silence

recognizing too

what you don’t say

 

I try to hold

this vision whole

this brief glimpse

of what must be

 

even when I

fail

even when I

fall back

on what I know

afraid

of the shifting

ground

afraid

to trust

myself

and you

afraid

I will forget

how to fly

or how to

catch myself

in this trembling

 

I try holding

this vision whole

 

I try living

on the new

shifting

ground

 

I try knowing

it is no longer

about

you or

you and I

 

I try,

 

knowing

only in

this

trembling

will I

be whole.

 

I try,

knowing

only in

this

trembling

will I

be whole.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “only in this trembling”

  1. soudary September 12, 2014 at 1:16 pm #

    Roi, please keep writing. Even without the tags, I knew what you were writing about, and felt the trembles. Thank you.

Your Words

