what do you pack to pursue a dream?

3 Jan

For at least a year now, I’ve been lumbering through a blog-dentity crisis, brought on by my daughter’s growing need for privacy. We’re having conversations at my house about acceptable use of the internet, safety and respect, what’s shareable, what’s not, who gets to decide. It’s a moving target and I’m trying to keep up, but one thing is clear: I need a new direction for my blog.

So on our honeymoon this Fall, I picked up a small hard-bound book of questions called ever wonder by Kobi Yamada and on New Year’s Morning, I opened it for the first time. I opened the book to a page in the middle, somewhere random, unplanned. I didn’t want to think too much. I simply wanted to – want to – read and respond.

The first question I opened to was this:

What do you pack to pursue a dream and what do you leave behind?

Fitting for New Year’s Day, don’t you think?

People I love slowly gathered in my living room as my new book sat open on the table. I read the question aloud to raised eyebrows, thoughtful gazes, steaming mugs of coffee… quietly imagining suitcases, a messy room, discarded clothes on the floor along the wall.

I imagined packing with intention, emerging from the messy room with a sense of relief.

I decided to pack:

  • Pens
  • Paper
  • Books – memoirs and beautiful writing, rich descriptions, magical moments
  • Coffee
  • Fruit

I decided to leave behind:

  • Insecurity and self-destructive thoughts
  • Conversations that make me feel icky and gross. I don’t mean those conversations that stretch me or bump me around and make me cry but ultimately spur healing or growth. No, I mean those conversations that never let me out the other side.

It’s a start anyway.

What do you pack to pursue a dream and what do you leave behind?

Care to join me in this question game? Link to your own blog or comment below.

If I hear from more than five people (I believe in reasonable goals), I’ll post a new random question on Monday and blog a response Friday morning.

Happy New Year!

16 Responses to “what do you pack to pursue a dream?”

  1. goodfamiliesdo January 3, 2015 at 5:18 pm #

    Sounds good to me! I need this kind of thinking. I hope you are still writing your parenting stories. I’m also curious what shape the privacy/internet conversation has.

    • RoiAnn January 3, 2015 at 5:44 pm #

      Hmmm. Maybe the internet conversations would make a good post sometime, too… anyway I’m not losing all parenting stories from my blog – I just need to mix it up a bit. And I’m thrilled you’re interested in the “ever wonder” posts! Yay 🙂 Suppose we could interest 4 more people in the idea?

      • goodfamiliesdo January 3, 2015 at 5:46 pm #

        If i don’t have a migraine tomorrow, i will post and link and see if any of my readers/friends are!

      • RoiAnn January 4, 2015 at 10:35 pm #

        Thank you! Can’t wait to see how people respond. AND … we got five 🙂 Next question arriving tomorrow morning. G’night for now.

      • goodfamiliesdo January 4, 2015 at 11:07 pm #

        Yay! I haveny had any comments on my post yet.

  2. Jenna Hatfield January 3, 2015 at 7:03 pm #

    Comfortable shoes and clothes. Lots of colored pens, paper, and my camera. An open heart, and my unstoppable determination.

    Happy New Year!

    • RoiAnn January 3, 2015 at 7:12 pm #

      I love it!!! Thank you 🙂

  3. debweeks January 3, 2015 at 9:57 pm #

    I pack my family, dogs, tools, books, and determination.

    • RoiAnn January 4, 2015 at 11:02 am #

      Oooo – determination – I love this question and everyone’s answers. Happy New Year, Deb, and Happy Dreaming!

  4. verilp January 4, 2015 at 10:24 am #

    I love the question and your answer. I want the next question!! So, it’s only fair I answer your first one, right? Of course, right! Well, it depends on the dream I choose to dream. My fondest dream I’m not ready to share with the world, so I’m choosing a lessor dream, but a dream nonetheless real (um, or is that “dreamy?”).

    What would I pack? Less weight, more strength in my legs, a tour book, a camera, a device or two (my substitute for pens and paper and books and music), and my business partner (wink, wink). Well, I wouldn’t actually pack my partner, but you get the idea — I definitely want her with me in this dream.

    What do I leave behind? Security and ease of being home, the projects that occupy this retired guy’s mind and time, and worry about hiking at high elevation.

    Happy dreaming in 2015!!

    • RoiAnn January 4, 2015 at 11:00 am #

      Love love love! All of it! Happy Dreaming to you, too – and Happy Living into all those dreams! xo

  5. Marj January 4, 2015 at 4:26 pm #

    Pack:
    – Creativity
    – Open mind, heart and soul
    – Flexibility
    – Big eyes (and a camera)
    – Deep breaths
    – Sunscreen 🙂

    Leave behind:
    – Rigidity
    – Some of the fears (not all)
    – Valuables

    • RoiAnn January 4, 2015 at 10:38 pm #

      I love all of it, but the sunscreen cracked me right up, I am intrigued by leaving behind some but not all of the fears (seems so practical!) and I feel almost a lightness to read that you leave behind your valuables. Sending you love and light for the journey.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Do You Pack to Pursue a Dream? | Good Families Do… - January 4, 2015

    […] blog friend has posed a writing prompt question. Who else wants to answer with […]

  2. We got five! The Question is … | Are you the babysitter? - January 5, 2015

    […] We got five! Five people. More than five people responded to Question #1. […]

  3. Question #3 | Are you the babysitter? - January 11, 2015

    […] more than five people responded to Question #1 last week, I posted a second randomly selected question. A few bloggers and friends shared […]

Your Words

