We got five! The Question is …

5 Jan

We got five! Five people. More than five people responded to Question #1.

I promised to post a random question on Monday (that’s today) and blog my response on Friday, drawing from Kobi Yamada’s book, ever wonder, IF I heard from five or more people on the first question and…

It’s on! Thank you. 🙂

On Friday, I will blog my response here and invite you to share your response – either with a link to your own blog or a comment below. Are you ready?

ever wonder 1 dog

Now I’m sitting on my bed with the laptop (breaking my longstanding bed/laptop rule), opening the book to another provocative question:

Is it true that you have to see it to believe it, or rather, do you have to believe it before you can see it?

Happy Pondering ~ See you Friday!
RoiAnn

6 Responses to “We got five! The Question is …”

  1. Tiffany Turner January 5, 2015 at 11:38 am #

    I think you have to see it to believe it, or some sort of sensory input. It’s like does a tree have to fall in the forest. Do you have to be standing there to have it fall? Well, if you’re not there, you won’t perceive it. Believing it first will not make something be there. You have to be there to perceive it. It all starts with you.

    • RoiAnn January 9, 2015 at 1:34 pm #

      Interesting perspective, and I’m surprised, actually – you are so imaginative, so creative that I wouldn’t have expected pragmatism from you – but I hear you, and I often agree… except when, well, I don’t. I LOVE hearing all different points of view on this question – I have to say – both here, and in real life conversations, too – it’s quite something. Thank you for commenting!

  2. debweeks January 7, 2015 at 10:05 pm #

    I’ve been pondering this you posted it a couple days ago and I still can’t answer the question.

    On one hand, there are things that I would have to see it to believe it. Like my 5-yr-old daughter cleaning her room. It just doesn’t happen without mommy intervention, so if someone told me she cleaned her room, I would have to see it to believe it.

    However, there are things that I have had to believe before I could see them. Having come out of a traumatic 1st marriage, I had a difficult time believing in love. Or should I say love and commitment in a partner relationship. I had to believe it before I could see it and only in believing it could I experience it again. This year my husband and I will celebrate 30 years of marriage. A marriage of love and commitment that I see now because I first believed it could happen.

    • RoiAnn January 9, 2015 at 1:31 pm #

      Congratulations on 30 years!!!!! SO inspiring. I almost explored the idea of love here, too, but I couldn’t find any words… I hear you. And your daughter? Totally on the same page with you there if I think back to when our wee one was 5 – we’re not much beyond the mommy-must-clean-too phase, but let’s say it has HAPPENED that on her own initiative, she’s cleaned her room. Now when I ask her to, it can be an altogether different thing… but, well, what’s parenting without it’s challenges-that-breed-parental-growth? Cheers!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Question #3 | Are you the babysitter? - January 11, 2015

    […] more than five people responded to Question #1 last week, I posted a second randomly selected question. A few bloggers and friends shared thoughts on that one, too, so now I’m posting Question […]

  2. Who’s Driving this Car? | Are you the babysitter? - January 15, 2015

    […] had a really hard time with last week’s question, I have to confess. I nearly scrapped the whole question-and-answer idea, except that … I am loving the […]

Your Words

