Public Transit

8 Apr

On the train
I stand
with my two feet
beneath me
placed
intentionally apart
for balance
my knees
nimble
ready
slightly bent
to sway with
the moving train

On the train
I watch people
enter and exit and
exit and enter

I watch people
move aside
hold the door
offer a seat
to a stranger
say, “Hey”

People
who do not
ride the train
sometimes miss
this generosity

Five stops in
one woman
smiles at me
openly
warmly
momentarily
and
I realize she
has been with me
the whole way
her feet planted too
her knees also nimble
and
ready to
step aside
for someone who
needs space or
just an easier
ride

Her smile
brief
fleeting
full
fills the car
with
confidence
fills me
with
confidence

Her smile
fills the whole car

When the train
stops
I
she
we
step out
into the sun
beaming.

train-in-station

*  *  *

National Poetry Writing Month

30 poems in 30 days

2 Responses to “Public Transit”

  1. Anonymous April 8, 2015 at 12:37 pm #

    Loved reading your poem of the day “train in Station” a smile goes a long way yes?

Your Words

