Spring Morning

15 Apr

Early,
the digital display
leads me out of the heat
of my dreams

and still with the ghost
of a blanket
at my back,
I reach my hand
towards the crate
to release the pup

who stretches
two freckled paws
into the bedroom,
lifts his head
into my hand
for morning kisses,
a sleepy rub,

and with the trailing ghost
of my blanket, his crate,
we walk (he trots)
to the back door
and emerge
while the pink
morning sun
warms the sky
and we linger
here.

image

*  *  *
National Poetry Writing Month

30 poems in 30 days

2 Responses to “Spring Morning”

  1. Joy Wright April 16, 2015 at 12:07 pm #

    Love it!

    • RoiAnn April 16, 2015 at 10:22 pm #

      Thank you, Joy 🙂

Your Words

