in the blink of an eye

7 May

My girl unfurls herself

from my backseat,

slips each arm easily

into her backpack straps,

and emerges from my car.


I reach

for the project

she’s taken

three months

to create,

while students stream

into the school.


“I want to carry my poster, Mom,”

she says, and

takes it from me,

proudly nods my dismissal,

offers a smile

full of love,

accepts my hug

and carries her poster

down the sidewalk,

stepping lightly,

head held high

while I

start the car

and

drive away.


wpid-20150412_150953.jpg

3 Responses to “in the blink of an eye”

  1. Runaway Nuns and Leprechauns May 7, 2015 at 10:14 pm #

    My little one hasn’t made it to the “let me carry it” mode just yet– and I’m not rushing her! (:

Your Words

