Last Day

4 Jun

Last kids’ yoga class.
Last night of tutoring.
Last Girl Scout gathering.
Last day with a school-issued iPad.

Last day of elementary school.

With each last, my girl looks me in the eye,
pouts her lip like she did when she was five
and says, “How sad!” But she doesn’t mean it.
She cracks the tiniest smile each time,

leaving me to ask myself if Sad
is the only ending I offered,
if Sad is the only ending I know.

Tomorrow, I drop my daughter off
for the last day of fifth grade.

Tomorrow, I drop my daughter off
for her last day of fifth grade.

And tomorrow night, we dance.

Your Words

