IRL

28 Apr

Can we relate?
.
If we met each other
in the here-and-now,
in real time, in the context
of our everyday earthly lives,
would we be friends?
.
How to decide?
Do you know?
.
Do we have the same
values
interests
struggles
beliefs?
Does it matter?
Does that make us
more or less
likely
to be friends?
.
Why are you online?
Why am I?
Is it to
think
reflect
cry
laugh
listen
rest
comprehend?
.
Respond?
.
I behave sometimes
as if my words
online
are weighted,
as if the internet gods
will one day post
a word cloud
of annual shares
and measure me
on some political scale.
Whose side am I on?
Who do I play for?
Where do I stand?
.
It isn’t true. I don’t think
it’s true, but if they ask:
I stand for equity,
justice, love and peace and if
I’m pressed to choose
just one
.
I choose
the one
designed to
hold them
all –

Love.

* * * * *
National Poetry Writing Month
30 poems in 30 days

Your Words

