Letting Go

7 Jun

Today was the last day of First Grade.

“Feel the wind,” I said to my daughter

while I held her new beach ball,

signed by all her classmates.

“If I let go right now,

where do you think it will go?”

4 Responses to “Letting Go”

  1. Naomi Rifkin June 8, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    What a sweet post! So much beauty in so few words!

    • rrp69 June 8, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      Thank you – I really appreciate the feedback!

  2. Abby June 8, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    This poem made me cry! I find letting go so hard as a mom, and yet it seems to be the work most in front of me, most of the time. Thank you for writing.

    • RoiAnn June 8, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

      So completely true for me, too – and lately my daughter seems to echo this struggle. She asked me on Monday, “What if all the kids in the world could stay kids?” and then almost as an afterthought, “…and all the parents were still parents?” Um… right. What if?

Your Words